Planning and Preparation-Pineapple/Blueberry Cake

Dear Sister,

Most of us have heard the phrase: When you fail to plan, you plan to fail. This is especially true when we are trying a new recipe.

We have to plan ahead by purchasing the necessary ingredients, making sure we have the correct utensils and understand the instructions.

When we get ready to make the recipe, we have to plan ahead make sure we allow adequate preparation time-especially if we are planning on serving it for a special event. It helps if we have practiced making the new recipe at least one time before the special event so we can testify to the deliciousness of it-we could try it on our family first to get some feedback on how we could improve it in the future.

This is one reason why we should look for opportunities to try something new in a safe place-which is why I love my Toastmasters group. It gives me a safe place to try out new material for speeches and receive constructive, unbiased feedback or evaluations on what I can do to improve it in the future.

I have specific instructions on how to prepare each speech; I make sure I give myself plenty of time to practice it before I present it to my group.

Are you ready to try a new recipe? It is not necessarily healthy and most likely won’t contribute to ‘keeping you in the pink’ if you are trying to lose weight. However, nothing says that you have to be perfect at everything all the time.

This recipe started off as an experiment when I didn’t have enough blueberries to make a: Blueberry Streusel cake. (I guess I failed to plan on that one…) I substituted crushed pineapple for half of the blueberries and I believe that it is now one of my son’s has a favorite recipes. He was a little bit disappointed when I took down my dearsister.com page. I decided to make this recipe my first post at his request.

Enjoy trying something new AND this recipe!
Chris

Pineapple, Blueberry Cake

Ingredients:
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup ground oats
2/3 cup brown sugar
1 Tablespoon baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
1/3 cup softened butter
1 teaspoon imitation vanilla extract
1 cup sweetened vanilla almond milk

1 egg
1 cup fresh blueberries
10 ounces drained, crushed pineapple

Glaze:
1 cup powdered sugar
1/3 cup softened butter
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 tablespoon unsweetened lemon juice
2 tablespoons sweetened vanilla almond milk or more depending on how thick or thin you want the glaze.

Pre-heat to 350 degrees. Use butter or coconut oil to grease 9×9 inch pan. Mix together on low-speed for 30 seconds: Flour, ground oats, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, butter, almond milk and egg, then mix on medium speed for 2 minutes. Pour half of batter into prepared pan; spread the crushed pineapple evenly over batter; pour remaining batter over crushed pineapple and top with blueberries. Bake for 35-40 minutes until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let it cool for an hour. Make the glaze and drizzle over the top. ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

